top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Keung

My Beginning

Updated: Jul 16, 2020

Here's a little about how I started caring more about the environment and changing my habits.


First of all, if you are one of my super supportive friends that have been giving me helpful feedback and supporting my website, I would like to thank you. ESPECIALLY CHRISTINA NGUYEN who encouraged me to do more with the information that I attained. I cannot express my gratitude for each and every one of you enough. I am overwhelmed by the love and support I am feeling right now as I have just released the first post on my club Instagram. Thank you again for making this possible.

 

How it all started


"Finish all the food on you plate, there are children who do not have food" "Let's reuse this container of almonds for our salt we bought in bulk" "Sort out the recycling" "Let's save all our grocery bags under the sink" -wise words from my family


Let me be honest; 7 year old me never understood why my parents would put our salt into another container that seems to be almonds or why I would need to have a plethora of plastic bags under my sink, but as I grew up, I understood it. The cleaned off plate reduces food waste; the reused plastic almond container limits the single use plastic my family uses; the recycling has brought in thousands of dollars over my 17 years of living; and the grocery bags under my sink are not in the ocean polluting our environment. I get it. I truly do.


What Sparked my Passion?


I've always had an appreciation for nature and I've believe it's beautiful and should be protected all my life. Right before quarantine, I began going on hikes again with my friends. I truly immersed myself into nature and took time to actually appreciate the world around me. The fact that people around me are not as mindful as they should be to live sustainable lives angered me but I realized it was due to the fact that they may not be educated on how to.

I found myself searching for information on climate change and I stumbled across an online class provided by Harvard on Health Effects of Climate Change. I took this course and there was a lot of interesting information that I didn't know before. I now know about Urban Heat Islands, green buildings, the vulnerable populations of air pollution, and the effects of sea level rise to food production. I knew that since I was more educated on this topic, I had to do my part and educate others.


Creation of this Website


People around me tend to lack the patience needed to look for specific information regarding any issue around us. This was prevalent when the Black Lives Movement was sparked up on May 25, 2020 and people began spreading misinformation and forming their opinions based off one post that was featured on their friend's story. I decided that it was time to provide a convenient platform to educate my community on environmental conservation. The website was created to address the people who may not believe in climate change, to supplement the people seeking to do more, and to provide numerous options to further their knowledge.



Continuing On...


Moving forward from just this website, I hope to encourage my neighbors to compost and propose fixes at my school to make our lives all more sustainable. I truly believe, by changing habits, we will change the world. It all starts with us. :)

102 views0 comments
bottom of page